A DUI conviction will put 6 demerit points on your license. Six point demerit violations are the most serious. A conviction will remain on DMV record for years – 11 years for DWI, and 11 years for driving under the influence (DUI).
To reinstate your driving privileges will require certain actions be taken for you, based upon the circumstances of your case. A temporary withdrawal of your driver's license is a suspension. In a DUI conviction, your license will be revoked – a complete termination of your ability to drive legally. The requirements for reinstatement are more complex. To reinstate, you will be required to take the driver's test, as well as pay for a new license, once you have fulfilled all the terms that have been imposed upon you, including alcohol treatment or classes, paying fines, and having insurance coverage in place for your vehicles.
To get restricted driving privileges after a DUI conviction, you will be required to submit evidence that you have completed all of the requirements. This is often possible in a
first DUI conviction. Commercial drivers are not eligible for restricted driving privileges in Virginia.
Another option is to take action to defend against the charges. You cannot assume that there is an airtight case against you until you have all evidence reviewed by a highly skilled Virginia DUI lawyer. Your case may be seriously flawed, and there could be the option to have the entire case dismissed. Don't take chances with your driving privileges.
Contact the Law Offices of Michael A. Pignone for assistance. Your rights must be protected, and you need a defense lawyer that knows how to fight back, and has a track record of success. Defending against the charges could allow you to retain your legal right to drive, both in court and with the DMV.