Virginia DUI Lawyer
DUI Attorney in Fairfax, Fauquier & Prince William County
People who face drunk driving charges need to act quickly and retain the services of a highly qualified Virginia DUI lawyer. At the Law Offices of Michael A. Pignone, the aggressive lawyer does everything possible to create an opportunity for a favorable outcome in the case. The firm has over 16 years experience in defending DUI cases and gets many cases on a referral basis from satisfied clients who were able to avoid the severe penalties imposed in Virginia in any DUI conviction.
The first step after an arrest is to contact the firm to discuss your case and what can be done to defend you. There are frequently errors in DUI cases that can lead to a dismissed case, and a full evaluation of the specifics of your case should be undertaken immediately. Don't make any court appearance without Attorney Pignone there to represent you and do all he can to defend you. Early involvement is important in such cases, as when there have been police or testing errors, he could potentially get your case dismissed.
DUI Attorney Serving all of Virginia
The long term consequences of a conviction are much more serious than many realize; even a first time misdemeanor DUI can cost up to $2,500 in fines, require days in jail, alcohol education programs, and a suspended driver's license. The conviction for a DUI on your record will not assist you when you are looking for employment; with so many looking for work, it is easy to imagine being passed over for someone less qualified without any criminal record.
The firm represents individuals charged with DUI charges, including:
Updated state laws have led to more serious penalties for all types of DUI charges. It is important that you understand exactly what is at stake before you plead guilty. A full review of your situation can allow us to determine what can be done for you to help you fight to avoid conviction.
How can your case be defended? It is impossible to determine without fully reviewing what happened. If there were errors made in testing, law enforcement procedure, or even the initial stop, it may be possible to get your case dismissed or achieve a full acquittal. Find out more.
The penalties imposed in a 2nd, 3rd or 4th DUI are greatly increased. You could expect to spend a long period in jail or prison, based upon the situation. It is extremely serious to have a prior DUI conviction within the past 5 years and once again be facing charges. Read more.
Virginia lawmakers have implemented a "zero tolerance" policy with regard to underage drinking. A person under 21 that registers at .02 or above in a breath or blood test will be facing serious consequences that can have a long term negative impact on job opportunities, schooling and the ability to drive again.
There are several types of DUI charges that will be filed as a felony. These include cases of a 3rd DUI offense within a 10 year period. Another type of felony DUI charge involves cases in which an individual is killed and it is alleged that the loss of life is the result of drunk driving.
First Time DUI
A first time DUI is most often filed as a misdemeanor. The penalties are not light; you will be required to pay expensive fines, you will lose your legal right to drive, and will be required to attend alcohol treatment classes that must be completed within a specific period of time or you will have violated the terms of your probation.
Driving On A Suspended License
If you are caught in Virginia driving with a suspended license due to an earlier DUI conviction, the consequences will be extremely serious. Your vehicle will be impounded for 90 days as part of the penalty.
Some people may be able to get a restricted license after a DUI conviction. Find out all the details about your specific case and what your options are. It is tougher to qualify for a restricted license than in the past, and it is advised that if you are facing a DUI and a suspended license, that you get legal representation immediately.
You should understand the science behind BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) if you are facing DUI charges. This is not an exact science, and the testing units involved have very specific requirements for any evidence gathered to be accurate. The units themselves are prone to error, particularly roadside testing units that can be impacted by radio waves or temperature.
Ignition Interlock Device
If you have been convicted of a DUI offense a second time you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle or vehicles. The cost will be to you; any violation will mean the immediate suspension or revocation of your license.
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious felony charge that can result in years in prison in a conviction. When a person dies in a car accident and it is believed that the responsible party
Leaving The Scene
You are required under state law to stop and render aid if you are involved in an accident. If you leave the scene, you can later be charged with a felony crime. If you or a family member is accused of committing this felony, immediate action must be taken to help you defend against the charges. Find out more about the crime and penalties.
Breath & Blood Test
The most important evidence the prosecutor has against you is the breath or blood test results. These are also called BAC or chemical tests. The majority of people are arrested and charged after a breathalyzer test. For an underage person, .02 or higher will result in charges. For a commercial driver the level is .04 or higher, and for a regular license the legal limit is .08 or higher. Read more.
Field Sobriety Test
Law enforcement must have probable cause to stop you and arrest you. One way to bolster evidence of driving under the influence is field sobriety testing. Most people do not realize that they are not required by law to submit to this testing.Find out more.
Recent changes in Virginia law allow for a vehicle to be impounded for varying lengths of time after a DUI arrest. If you have a prior DUI within a specific number of years, you can expect to have your vehicle impounded for 90 days.
Law enforcement is allowed to have sobriety checkpoints, but they are also restricted with regard to how they operate these checkpoints. They cannot engage in any profiling when pulling over vehicles. If you have been stopped and later charged with DUI, there could be real options for your defense, and you deserve to find out what they are. Find out more.
Certain DUI convictions may be able to be "expunged." This is an important advantage, as having a conviction for drunk driving on your criminal record is a real deterrent when seeking employment. If you hope to clear your criminal record of a DUI arrest and conviction, read more.
Defending DUI in Prince William County, Fairfax & Fauquier
There are an astonishing number of cases that have serious errors in the administration of field sobriety tests, breath tests and even blood tests that can be successfully challenged by a skilled attorney from the firm. When the attorney from the firm takes on a case, he carefully analyzes every aspect of the case from the traffic stop, to the testing, through to the arrest to identify any part of the evidence and procedure that could be challenged in court. Not all law firms have had the number of DUI cases or the extensive experience that the firm brings to the table to help clients who are hoping to avoid a conviction.
For more serious felony charges, such as those in which an accident, injury or death occurred, the future could look grim. Any serious accident is very emotional for all involved. The firm moves fast to ensure that your rights are protected and that everything possible that can be done to defend will be done. The firm has a proven record in court and is recognized throughout the area as a successful and aggressive DUI lawyer.
At the firm, the attorney has the skills, experience and aggressive approach you need on your side if you are facing a DUI charge in Virginia.